AMÉLIE
As a dreamer with a special sense of justice, French star actress Audrey Tautou has not only enchanted MMC Film & TV Studios - nominated for five Academy Awards.
Photo: © STUDIOCANAL
THE READER
In the MMC Studios service production, acting icon Kate Winslet earned her Oscar for Best Actress in a Leading Role - a total of five nominations at the Academy Awards, including Best Picture.
Photo: © Wild Bunch Germany
THE PEACOCK
The MMC in-house production gathers a top-class acting ensemble in the context of a teambuilding seminar in the Scottish Highlands. At the latest when the favorite peacock of the local lord disappears without a trace, chaos breaks out...
Photo: © Frank Dicks
Previous
Next

(INTER)NATIONAL FILM PRODUCTIONS

The MMC Movies (co-)produces and (co-)finances national and international feature films for cinema and TV. Everything that has to do with film production is one of our passions and strengths - from financing and pre-production, to shooting, post-production and handling.

 

From our vast experience and the MMC location advantages - thanks to our headquarters in Cologne, we enjoy the support of the Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Germany's financially strongest regional Film funding - has already benefited numerous productions.

 

In parallel with its production activities, MMC Movies also offers full service for film and series productions: Our services include, among others, the rental of studios and production offices, set as well as decoration construction and the realization of virtual sets as well as productions.

INSIDE

Nemo (Willem Dafoe) is a professional burglar and art thief, a genius in his field. But when he breaks into the luxury penthouse of a renowned collector, something unexpected happens: the apartment's security system locks all entrances and exits and subsequently breaks down. The penthouse becomes a golden cage for him, but also a place of revelation...

 

MMC co-produced and shot almost entirely at MMC Film & TV Studios - where the world's highest studio provided the opportunity to build an 800-square-meter, ten-meter-high apartment. Participant of the 73rd Berlinale.

© Focus Features
© Warner Bros. Entertainment

55 STEPS

Eleanor Riese (Helena Bonham Carter) suffers from paranoid schizophrenia and after a voluntary hospital stay the strong side effects of her prescribed medication - the request to have a say in it, Eleanor's doctors ignore. As a result, she hires lawyer Colette Hughes (Hilary Swank) and together they fight - as atypical friends - for Eleanor's right to self-determination in a seemingly hopeless trial.

 

MMC co-produced and filmed at MMC Studios. Nominated once for the German Film Award and four times at the Women Film Critics Circle Awards.

THE PHYSICIAN

England in the 11th century - Rob Cole (Tom Payne) has an extraordinary gift: as a young boy, he senses only by touch that his sick mother is about to die, and must watch helplessly as his premonition comes true. The young orphan joins a traveling bather (Stellan Skarsgård), who teaches him the basics of medieval healing. One day Rob learns about the famous polymath Ibn Sina (Sir Ben Kingsley) - and decides to train as a doctor in faraway Persia.

 

MMC service production and shot at MMC Film & TV Studios. Five nominations for the German Film Award.

© Universal Pictures
© Universal Pictures

RUSH

Two lives in the fast lane: In the early 70s, the highly divergent rivals Niki Lauda (Daniel Brühl) and James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) duel for the Formula 1 crown. Until the legendary 1976 race at the Nürburgring - the most dangerous of all tracks - Lauda is in 1st place in the season's standings, but on a rain-soaked track he builds a dramatic crash. With almost superhuman will Lauda fights his way back and only a few weeks later competes in another showdown with Hunt in Japan - again it rains heavily, the race is to be cancelled...

 

MMC service production that won a BAFTA and was nominated for Best Drama at the Golden Globe Awards, among others.

SOURCES OF FINANCING

Finding the right film financing model is one of the most important and time-consuming jobs in film production. That is exactly where our strength lies!

 

For the production of films, series, TV shows and other formats, MMC offers a whole range of financing options, including private equity, regional, national and European funding, gap financing and international pre-sales.

 

We also assist in casting international talents and act as the link to artist agencies such as CAA and ICM.

We offer funding sources of all kinds to design the optimal financing structure for your production:

 

German funding programs:

  • German Federal Film Fund (DFFF)
  • Film and Media Foundation NRW
  • FFA
  • German Motion Picture Fund (GMPF)

 

European funding programs:

  • Eurimages
  • MEDIA Program of the European Union

THE MMC MOVIES L.A. OFFICES

MMC Movies has maintained an office in Los Angeles since summer 2021. The new location is centrally located in the "Hollywood Media District", only a few minutes' walk from the offices of Netflix and Viacom CBS as well as Paramount, Sunset & Red Studios.

 

Patrick Heinemeyer is the contact person for the L.A. office.

VIRTUAL PRODUCTION SPACE

Together with our cooperation partners LAVAlabs Moving Images and ETC Entertainment Technology Concepts we have developed a Virtual Production Space in our MMC Studios.

 

With Virtual Production, the digital setting is superimposed directly on the set via a high-resolution LED wall, which is fed in real time with highly complex 3D rendering technology. The advantages of this innovative technology are manifold: The Virtual Production Space makes the production completely independent of time-consuming travel activities, weather conditions or filming permits and the actors act in an authentic atmosphere instead of in front of the green screen.

FILMOGRAPHY

Internationally acclaimed projects with Hollywood stars such as Ben Kingsley, Hilary Swank, Helena Bonham Carter and Kate Winslet, who earned an Academy Award (Oscar) in The Reader at the MMC Studios.

 

Among the best-known films are Rush, A Dangerous Method Only Lovers Left Alive, Stowaway, The Fabulous World of Amelie, The Reader, The Diary of Anne Frank, The Medicus and 7500.

en_US

DIE FABELHAFTE WELT DER AMÉLIE
Als Träumerin mit besonderem Gerechtigkeitssinn hat die französische Starschauspielerin Audrey Tautou nicht nur die MMC Film & TV Studios verzaubert - nominiert für fünf Oscars.
Foto: © STUDIOCANAL
DER VORLESER
In der Serviceproduktion der MMC Studios erspielte sich Schauspielikone Kate Winslet ihren Oscar als beste Hauptdarstellerin - insgesamt fünf Nominierungen für den begehrten Goldjungen, unter anderem auch zum besten Film.
Foto: © Wild Bunch Germany
DER PFAU
Die MMC-Eigenproduktion versammelt ein hochkarätiges Schauspielensemble im Rahmen eines Teambuilding-Seminars in den schottischen Highlands. Spätestens als der Lieblingspfau des heimischen Lords spurlos verschwindet, bricht das Chaos aus...
Foto: © Frank Dicks
Vorheriges Dia
Nächste Folie

(INTER)NATIONALE FILMPRODUKTIONEN

Die MMC Movies (ko-)produziert und (ko-)finanziert nationale sowie internationale Spielfilme für Kino und TV. Alles, was mit Filmproduktion zu tun hat, gehört zu unseren Leidenschaften und Stärken – von der Finanzierung sowie Pre-Production, über die Dreharbeiten bis zur Postproduktion und Abwicklung.

 

Von unserer großen Erfahrung und den MMC-Standortvorteilen – dank unseres Sitzes in Köln genießen wir die Unterstützung der Film- und Medienstiftung NRW, Deutschlands finanzstärkster regionaler Filmförderung – konnten bereits zahlreiche Produktionen profitieren.

 

Parallel zu ihrer Produktionstätigkeit bietet die MMC Movies auch Full-Service-Dienstleistungen für Film- und Serienproduktionen: Unsere Services umfassen unter anderem die Vermietung von Studios und Produktionsbüros, den Kulissen- sowie Dekorationsbau und die Realisierung virtueller Sets sowie Produktionen.

INSIDE

Nemo (Willem Dafoe) ist professioneller Einbrecher und Kunstdieb, ein Genie auf seinem Gebiet. Doch als er in das Luxus-Penthouse eines renommierten Sammlers einbricht, passiert etwas Unerwartetes: Das Sicherheitssystem des Appartements verriegelt alle Ein- sowie Ausgänge und bricht im Anschluss defekt zusammen. Das Penthouse avanciert für ihn zu einem goldenen Käfig, aber auch einem Ort der Offenbarung…

 

MMC-koproduziert und fast vollständig in den MMC Film & TV Studios gedreht – wo das höchste Studio der Welt die Möglichkeit bot, ein 800 Quadratmeter großes und zehn Meter hohes Appartement aufzubauen. Teilnehmer der 73. Berlinale.

© Focus Features
© Warner Bros. Entertainment

ELEANOR & COLETTE

Eleanor Riese (Helena Bonham Carter) leidet an paranoider Schizophrenie und nach einem freiwilligen Klinikaufenthalt den starken Nebenwirkungen ihrer verschriebenen Medikation – die Bitte, diese mitzubestimmen, ignorieren Eleanors Ärzte. Daraufhin engagiert sie die Anwältin Colette Hughes (Hilary Swank) und zusammen kämpfen sie – als untypische Freundinnen – in einem aussichtslos scheinenden Verfahren um Eleanors Recht auf Selbstbestimmung.

 

MMC-koproduziert und in den MMC Studios gefilmt. Einmal für den Deutschen Filmpreis nominiert und viermal bei den Women Film Critics Circle Awards.

DER MEDICUS

England im 11. Jahrhundert – Rob Cole (Tom Payne) hat eine außergewöhnliche Gabe: Als kleiner Junge fühlt er nur durch eine Berührung, dass seine kranke Mutter sterben wird, und muss hilflos zusehen, wie sich seine Vorahnung erfüllt. Der junge Waise schließt sich einem fahrenden Bader (Stellan Skarsgård) an, der ihm die Grundlagen mittelalterlicher Heilkunde beibringt. Eines Tages erfährt Rob von dem berühmten Universalgelehrten Ibn Sina (Sir Ben Kingsley) – und beschließt, sich im fernen Persien zum Arzt ausbilden zu lassen.

 

MMC-Serviceproduktion und in den MMC Film & TV Studios gedreht. Fünf Nominierungen für den Deutschen Filmpreis.

© Universal Pictures
© Universal Pictures

RUSH: ALLES FÜR DEN SIEG

Zwei Leben auf der Überholspur: Anfang der 70er Jahre duellieren sich die höchst unterschiedlichen Rivalen Niki Lauda (Daniel Brühl) und James Hunt (Chris Hemsworth) um die Krone der Formel 1. Bis zum legendären Rennen 1976 am Nürburgring – der gefährlichsten aller Strecken – steht Lauda auf dem 1. Tabellenplatz der Saison, doch auf regennasser Fahrbahn baut er einen dramatischen Crash. Mit schier übermenschlichem Willen kämpft sich Lauda zurück und tritt nur wenige Wochen später zum erneuten Showdown mit Hunt in Japan an – wieder regnet es stark, das Rennen soll abgebrochen werden…

 

MMC-Serviceproduktion, die einen BAFTA gewann und bei den Golden Globe Awards unter anderem als bestes Drama nominiert wurde.

FINANZIERUNGSQUELLEN

Das richtige Filmfinanzierungmodell zu finden, ist eine der wichtigsten und zeitraubensten Arbeiten der Filmproduktion. Da genau liegt unsere Stärke!

 

Für die Produktion von Filmen, Serien, TV-Shows und anderen Formaten bietet MMC eine ganze Reihe von Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten, inklusive Private Equity, regionalen, nationalen und europäischen Förderungen, Gap-Financing und internationalen Pre-Sales.

 

Auch unterstützen wir bei der Besetzung von Rollen durch internationale Talents und sind das Bindeglied zu den Künstleragenturen wie CAA und ICM.

Wir bieten Finanzierungsquellen jeglicher Art, um die optimale Finanzierungsstruktur für Ihre Produktion zu gestalten:

 

Deutsche Förderprogramme:

  • Deutscher Filmförderfonds (DFFF)
  • Film- und Medienstiftung NRW
  • FFA
  • German Motion Picture Fund (GMPF)

 

Europäische Förderprogramme:

  • Eurimages
  • MEDIA-Programm der Europäischen Union

DIE MMC MOVIES L.A. OFFICES

Die MMC Movies unterhält seit Sommer 2021 ein Büro in Los Angeles. Der neue Standort liegt zentral im „Hollywood Media District“, nur wenige Fußminuten von den Büros von Netflix und Viacom CBS sowie dem Paramount-, Sunset & Red Studios entfernt.

 

Ansprechpartner für das L.A. Office ist Patrick Heinemeyer.

VIRTUAL PRODUCTION SPACE

Gemeinsam mit unseren Kooperationspartnern LAVAlabs Moving Images  und ETC Entertainment Technology Concepts haben wir in unseren MMC Studios einen Virtual Production Space entwickelt.

 

Bei der Virtual Production wird das digitale Setting direkt am Set über ein hochauflösenden LED-Wall, die in Echtzeit mit einer hochkomplexen 3D-Rendering Technology bespielt wird, eingeblendet. Die Vorteile dieser innovativen Technolgie sind vielfältig: Die Produktion wird durch den Virtual Production Space komplett unabhängig von zeitraubenden Reiseaktivitäten, Wetterbedingungen oder Drehgenehmigungen und die Schauspieler agieren in einer authentischen Atmosphäre statt vor dem Green Screen.

FILMOGRAFIE

International angesehene Projekte mit Hollywood-Stars wie Ben Kingsley, Hilary Swank, Helena Bonham Carter und Kate Winslet, die sich in Der Vorleser in den MMC Studios einen Academy Award (Oscar) erspielt hat.

 

Zu den bekanntesten Filme gehören Rush, A Dangerous Method Only Lovers Left Alive, Stowaway, Die fabelhafte Welt der Amelie, Der Vorleser, Das Tagebuch der Anne Frank, Der Medicus und 7500.

de_DE